The Siren Depths, Splintered, and Assassin’s Apprentice

NEW: THE SIREN DEPTHS by Martha Wells (Night Shade Books, 2012)

In The Siren Depths, Martha Wells brings her readers back to the Raksura, a race of shape-shifters able to transform into winged creatures. With this, the third volume in The Books of the Raksura series, Wells revisits Moon, a boy who learns he has a special destiny.

All his life, Moon roamed the Three Worlds, a solitary wanderer forced to hide his true nature — until he was reunited with his own kind, the Raksura, and found a new life as consort to Jade, sister queen of the Indigo Cloud court. But now a rival court has laid claim to him, and Jade may or may not be willing to fight for him. Beset by doubts, Moon must travel in the company of strangers to a distant realm where he will finally face the forgotten secrets of his past, even as an old enemy returns with a vengeance. The Fell, a vicious race of shape-shifting predators, menaces groundlings and Raksura alike. Determined to crossbreed with the Raksura for arcane purposes, they are driven by an ancient voice that cries out from… The siren depths.


From the reader community:

“The worst thing about this book is that there probably isn’t going to be any more written in this universe or about these characters. I loved it, obviously, and it was the most emotional and heart-wrenching installment of the series. The world building continues to be incredible, and the story lines are wrapped up nicely at the end. I couldn’t wish for a more entertaining and engrossing series.” ~Crystal (Goodreads)

Perfect finish to my favourite fantasy trilogy in years. It brought together all the relationship threads, solved all the remaining mysteries and managed to introduce some great new characters to boot.” ~Muccamukk (Goodreads)


Note: Although this likely is the last novel in the Books of the Raksuka series, there is more to come! Wells will be releasing four novellas set in this universe, at least two of them involving the characters you come to know in the trilogy proper.

An excerpt of The Siren Depths is available on the author website. Order the book from these popular booksellers:


SOON: SPLINTERED by A. G. Howard (Amulet, January 1, 2013)

Splintered is one for you fans of fractured fairy tales—although Alice in Wonderland was pretty fractured to begin with!

This stunning debut captures the grotesque madness of a mystical under-land, as well as a girl’s pangs of first love and independence. Alyssa Gardner hears the whispers of bugs and flowers—precisely the affliction that landed her mother in a mental hospital years before. This family curse stretches back to her ancestor Alice Liddell, the real-life inspiration for Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Alyssa might be crazy, but she manages to keep it together. For now.

When her mother’s mental health takes a turn for the worse, Alyssa learns that what she thought was fiction is based in terrifying reality. The real Wonderland is a place far darker and more twisted than Lewis Carroll ever let on. There, Alyssa must pass a series of tests, including draining an ocean of Alice’s tears, waking the slumbering tea party, and subduing a vicious bandersnatch, to fix Alice’s mistakes and save her family. She must also decide whom to trust: Jeb, her gorgeous best friend and secret crush, or the sexy but suspicious Morpheus, her guide through Wonderland, who may have dark motives of his own.


From the reader community:

“The book description, for once, is perfect. This is a stunning debut, and it does capture the grotesque madness of a magical and much-loved world. ” ~Sam (Goodreads)

• “If you’re looking for a thrilling, un-put-downable novel, then you must read Splintered. I didn’t know whether to clap in geeky joy or gasp in fright throughout this book…Even if you aren’t an Alice fan, there’s a heart-pounding adventure, and an unforgettable romance, not to mention a story I’ll be thinking about for a long, long time.” ~Molli (Goodreads)


An excerpt of Splintered is available on the author’s blog. Look for this book on January 1 or preorder:


CLASSIC: ASSASSIN’S APPRENTICE by Robin Hobb (Voyager, 1995)

Assassin’s Apprentice was the first novel written under the name Robin Hobb, a pseudonym for Margaret Astrid Lindholm Ogden, now known to be one of the preeminent authors of the fantasy genre. Assassin’s Apprentice launches the Farseer Trilogy, one of four trilogies in the Realm of the Elderlings.

In a faraway land where members of the royal family are named for the virtues they embody, one young boy will become a walking enigma.

Born on the wrong side of the sheets, Fitz, son of Chivalry Farseer, is a royal bastard, cast out into the world, friendless and lonely. Only his magical link with animals – the old art known as the Wit – gives him solace and companionship. But the Wit, if used too often, is a perilous magic, and one abhorred by the nobility.

So when Fitz is finally adopted into the royal household, he must give up his old ways and embrace a new life of weaponry, scribing, courtly manners; and how to kill a man secretly, as he trains to become a royal assassin.


From the reader community:

“Though all of this is extremely satisfying to anyone who has waded through any of the popular door-stopper fantasies, the books really shine in the characters and settings. Her world feels real, perhaps because, unlike most fantasy writers, she focuses on the lives of ordinary people caught up in extraordinary events they can’t comprehend—fishermen, beekeepers, farmers, scribes—who only want fate to just leave them alone.” ~Sarah (Goodreads)

“I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good story with great characters. Someone who isn’t afraid to feel what the character feels for better or worse. This book will make you feel something.” ~Scott (Goodreads)


Blast from the past: Here’s a very early online review of Assassin’s Apprentice from 1996, a time where authors could easily hide behind their pseudonyms and no one knew who Robin Hobb really was.

An excerpt of Assassin’s Apprentice is available on Dragons, Heroes and Wizards. Order the book from these popular booksellers:

Which Fantastic New, Soon, and Classic books are you excited about?